Building the solution

How eco-friendly buildings can be part of a sustainable world.

People, Humans, Family, Home, Indoor

Untapped potential

Worldwide, buildings consume too many resources and produce too much waste. They use 25 percent of the world’s water and 40 percent of its resources, while creating one-third of all waste and 40 percent of global carbon emissions. Seen through the prism of these statistics, they’re environmentally unsustainable.

But buildings also have huge untapped potential to become a central part of the solution to our urgent sustainability challenges. Eco-friendly designs can combat climate change while improving our health, wellbeing and productivity.

To achieve this, it’s important to take a comprehensive approach to planning, design and construction that looks at every facet of sustainability. Focusing on just one approach can have a negative effect on the building’s overall performance, which is why standards developed by ISO (International Standardisation Organisation) and CEN (European Committee for Standardization) now make it possible to measure sustainability over a building’s entire lifecycle. These standards go beyond environmental performance to include how buildings contribute to health, safety and wellbeing.

优选解决方案

环保建筑如何成为世界可持续发展的一部分。

People, Humans, Family, Home, Indoor

未开发的潜力

在世界范围内,建筑消耗了许多资源并且产生了过多的浪费。建筑使用了世界上25%的水和40%的资源,同时产生了全球三分之一的废弃物和40%的碳排放。从这些数据来看,目前建筑行业在环境上是不可持续的。

但是,应对紧迫的可持续性问题的挑战,建筑业也具有巨大的尚未开发的潜力,能够成为解决可持续发展的核心部分。建筑领域的环保设计可以改善我们的健康、福祉和生产力的同时,还可应对气候变化。

为实现这一目标,采用全面的方法来规划、设计和构建可持续发展的各个方面十分重要。只着眼于单纯某一个方面可能会对建筑的整体性能产生负面影响。凭借ISO(国际标准化组织)和CEN(欧洲标准化委员会)制定的标准,人们现在已经能够测量建筑物在整个生命周期的可持续性。这些标准不仅包括环境方面的性能,还包括建筑对健康、安全和福祉的影响。