Containing fire

High quality fire-resistant materials can make the difference between a fire in a building and a building on fire

Family in front of fireplace

The importance of fire compartment

With fires developing much faster today compared to 50 years ago, it is critical in relation to personal safety and the future use of the building that once a fire begins, it is contained to the smallest possible area – the so-called “fire compartment”.

After fire reaches the flashover point, the only way to keep it from engulfing much larger areas of the building from the inside is to ensure that the walls, ceilings, floors and doors of the fire compartment can withstand being exposed to a fully developed fire on one side while not transporting heat, flames or toxic gases to the other side. How long they need to be able to contain the fire depends on the size, complexity and function of the building.

That said, post-flashover, the fire’s heat is intense and can break through the windows, which risks exposing the building façade to the fire and thus circumventing the fire compartment. If the façade system, including cladding and/or insulation, consists of non-combustible materials, however, the flames might eventually reach and breach the windows of the floor above, but the process will be comparatively slow as the façade wouldn’t contribute to the spread of the fire (and resulting smoke).

ROCKWOOL insulation is a key component in fire-resistant buildings. Stone wool insulation can withstand temperatures above 1,000º C and is inherently non-combustible, so it can help ensure a fire in a building does not become a building on fire.

防火性能

一旦发生火灾,岩棉产品可以将火势控制在某个区域内;而没有使用岩棉产品,极易造成整个建筑物着火。区别显而易见!

Family in front of fireplace

防火隔离的重要性

与50年前相比,今天的火势蔓延速度要快得多,因此就人身安全和建筑物使用寿命而言,将火灾限制在一个最小区域内 - 即所谓的“防火隔离” - 至关重要。

火势到达轰燃点后,阻止火焰从内而外吞噬更广泛建筑区域的唯一办法就是确保防火隔离区域的墙壁、天护板、地板和门能够抵抗住熊熊燃烧的大火且不会让热量、火焰或有毒气体传送到另一边。防火隔离区阻挡火势的时间取决于建筑物的规模、结构复杂程度和防火性能。

尽管如此,在轰燃后,火焰热量非常高,可以透过窗户蔓延,这将使建筑立面遭受火烧风险,这样就绕过了防火隔离区域。如果建筑立面系统(包括保温层和外饰面材料)由不可燃材料构成,虽然火焰最终还是有可能到达并破坏上一层楼的窗户,不过因为立面本身不会助长火势的蔓延,所以这一过程将相对较慢。

洛科威岩棉制品是建筑防火的重要组成。洛科威岩棉可以耐受1000ºC以上的温度,并且其不可燃性,可以确保建筑物内发生的火灾不会发展成为整个建筑物的火灾。